About Us

Founded in June 1918 by the writer and journalist (Sir) Evelyn Wrench, international friendship and understanding is at the heart of all that is undertaken by the ESU. (Sir) Winston Churchill was its Chairman, circa 1922. The Headquarters of the English-Speaking Union are based in Dartmouth House, London, W1. It expanded into the USA in 1920, and now has branches in approximately 50 countries. In 1910, (Sir) Evelyn Wrench also founded the Royal Over-Seas League, situated in Park Place, London SW1.

The first Australian branch was established in Melbourne in 1919, followed by Sydney and Adelaide in 1923, then Brisbane in 1959 and more recently ACT.

Visit the Australian English Speaking Union (AESU) website to a full listing of details on the ESU Branches in Australia.

Join the ESU and help to support programmes to preserve the English language

Mastering Public SPeaking